Altoids Survival Kit

Over this past weekend I put the final touches on my Altoids Survival Tin. There are a few reasons I wanted to put this kit together. One, I was just curious to see just exactly how much items I could actually fit into one of these tins. Surprisingly, one can fit a fair amount of gear in it. The other reason I wanted to put it together was for piece of mind — I commute an hour each way, each day, and I live in earthquake country so if I ever found myself in a situation and 30 miles away from home…this would be able to help get me home to my family. Additionally, this Altoids tin I will carry whenever I’m in the woods on my person, so if I ever find myself without my backpack and disoriented I will have access to some basic necessities until I can figure things out.

Contents of my tin

Contents of my tin

Altoids Survival Tin Contents:

1 box razor blade

1 Xacto razor blade

2 size #10 fish hooks

2 barrel swivels

2 size 2/0 fish hooks

2 size 2 fish hooks

1 magnify glass

5 rubber bands

6 split shot weights

20′ 15lb mono fishing line

1 pocket knife

6 200mb ibuprofen

1 first aid quick facts guide

1 SPF30 sunscreen

4 band-aids (various sizes)

1 packet insect repellant

2 antibiotic creams

2 alcohol cleansing pads

1 spool of green thread

1 compass

1 bic lighter

1 candle

1 tweezer

1 sewing needle

The last item I need/want to pick up is some Purified H2O Tablets from my REI store.

This tin is in my commuting backpack, along with 40′ of 550  paracord and a mini flashlight. This is relatively cheap insurance as I’m willing to bet this whole kit cost me under $10 as most of the items I had laying around the house and I just needed to assemble the gear.

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Environment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A wilderness survival kit without this indispensable food products are not
    really a wilderness survival kit at all. Several companies now offer high-deductible pet insurance so that in case of emergency, you
    can afford life-saving treatments. Regardless of the particular type of
    emergency, planning ahead and having the necessary supplies to make it through the first
    several days of the crisis is extremely important.

Leave a Reply

