Dreams & Change

The sun is hiding behind a wall of clouds that’s about to envelop us in a deep blanket of snow. As I sit here, with my cans on my ears and listen to Blind Melon’s Change my thoughts begin to float into a sea of moods. Not moodiness nor sour emotions, but more of excitement and gratefulness. I am so grateful that I’ve been blessed in my life, yet it’s not without its trials. Those trials are a place to draw strength from even though, at times, it seems that I’ve had my ass kicked and handed to me on a platter. Somehow I always seem to rite myself like an inflatable plastic punching bag. In the words of Shannon Hoon, “keep on dreaming boy, cause when you stop dreamin’ it’s time to die.” There have been times that I’ve felt as though I’ve been defeated, but that just isn’t the case. My craft and art may have hit a plateau over the past few years, but I’ve continued to learn and draw inspiration from those around me. It’s just that I still have yet to fully blossom. This walk is slow, patience is so important which is built upon strength and determination and of course dreams

Change by Blind Melon
I don’t feel the suns comin’ out today its staying in, its gonna find another way.
As I sit here in this misery, I don’t think I’ll ever see the sun from here.
And oh as I fade away, they’ll all look at me and say, and they’ll say, Hey look at him!
I’ll never live that way.
But that’s okay they’re just afraid to change.
When you feel your life ain’t worth living you’ve got to stand up and take a look around you then a look way up to the sky.
And when your deepest thoughts are broken,
keep on dreaming boy, cause when you stop dreamin’ it’s time to die.

And as we all play parts of tomorrow, some ways will work and other ways we’ll play.
But I know we all can’t stay here forever, so I want to write my words on the face of today.
and then they’ll paint it And oh as I fade away, they’ll all look at me and they’ll say,
Hey look at him and where he is these days.
When life is hard, you have to change.

Posted on February 5, 2010, in Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

