Graduation, Kayaking, and Yoga…My oh My

There’s been a lot of happenings around our casa as of late and I figured we might be due for an update. Sus has finished grad school with her Masters of Science in Counseling with a k-12 certification. What that means is that she can work as a counselor from K-University. Nobody in her program has ever accomplished this, let alone with a perfect gpa. Normally one selects a track and then tackles just that and they end up with a Masters of Education. It pretty amazing, the mere fact that she took every course offered in her program. I mean I could go on and on, but let’s just say I’m super proud of her.

We’ve also been enjoying the kayaks whenever the weather is in our favor. Mostly paddling on creeks and lakes, but we’ve got a camping trip planned for mid-July to go down to MD and paddle across the Potomoc to Mallow’s Bay. It is there that a bunch of old WW1 wooden warships have been left to rot and you can paddle around and check things out. We are going to be going with a kayak group that we’ve recently become involved with.

We had a great day yesterday, full of activities, from morning yoga to a two hour gym weightlifting work out, a visit to the dog park with Chloe and then a 1 hr paddle on a lake. Ending up with a great dinner of mussels, burgers and pints with our great family friends the Always. It was a great day!! Now, I’m a bit sore, but nothing to much.

Let’s see what else…our summer is filling up pretty fast though, we’ve got a few camping trips on the books and a couple of weddings to attend, no brisks though. I’m still fishing and at this point not even a nibble. Don’t know if it’s something I’m doing wrong or if it’s the damn fish! Either way it’s still a ton of fun. Once I get a bit more comfortable in my ‘yak I plan to do some fishing from it. Maybe that’ll help to increase the chances. We’ll see.

Lastly, if any of my loyal readers, know of any counselor work in any school districts or with any universities/community colleges, please give me a heads up.

If you haven’t already checked out my Grateful Dead photos from the recent show here, then please check out my sportsshooter page, link on the left.

One last thing to mention, it has been officially a year since we quit smoking. Just thought I’d share that as well. It’s just another something something that we’ve accomplished that wasn’t easy. Ozzy Osbourne once said something like quitting smoking was harder than quitting some of the hard core drugs I’ve done in my life. It’s been a wild road.

Posted on May 14, 2009, in Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

