The E-Gen

One of the paramount responsibilities I believe as a Gen X’er is that we need to raise our children to be good shepherds of the environment. I’ve come to the realization that this political hot button is just that; a debatable issue for their soap boxes. Politicians want to affect change in legislation yet the polluting companies are just to powerful right now and the policies are too lax. I do hope that’ll change once our generation becomes the next batch of corporate leaders. At the same time, I’m not sure that we are all desiring those positions, but I could be wrong. That too could be another paradigm shift.

I’m not a parent yet, nor do I intend to tell anyone how to raise their children. Hell I can’t even teach my dog to play catch, which is the whole purpose I wanted to adopt her. I say this only to prove that I’ve got a long way to go. The point here is that I believe our generation is the fulcrum for the future. I’m not sure we will effect the environment by the vast amount we believe needs to be done. Though, by teaching our children not only how, but why to care for the environment is the most important thing we can do. If we instill a spirit of moxie in them, then the delicate balancing act of industry and technology with environment should hopefully equal itself out. The Earth is an amazing place that can regenerate … if we’re not already too late.

This isn’t just about getting our kids outside to play, or to experience the beauty that surrounds them, but how even a cityscape impacts itself. How the ecosystems of rivers and their tributaries affect cities, not just how it effects the fish that use them to spawn. Or that the methods of travel must shift to a better use of energy, even though there is a higher price associated. This list goes on and on. This is stuff that we all know, I’m not saying anything new. I too am working to be a better steward so I may leave this place better for all those that will come behind me. I too sill have a lot to learn.

Posted on April 16, 2009, in Environment, Rant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

