The Sea of Today

These uncertain times are difficult to weather. Each morning as I rise and put on a happy face please know that hidden behind the mask is a scared little boy who worries about the future, just about every day. Not in a sense of doom and gloom from destruction, but more from the standpoint that this is an end of an era that I’ve ever known. It’s true that I’m adventurous in spirit and I do believe that I will make it out on the other side, its just that the rules are shifting and morphing under my feet without any understanding. I feel that my aspirations are slipping through my fingers and that the harsh reality of now changes everything. The dissemination of information is not accurate or different day-to-day and we are left throwing the preverbal darts in the dark, grasping to understand. Anyone with foresight knew this would be the outcome. Luckily, I’ve always tried to do my own thing and believe in what I have to offer matters, all the while there’s been the understanding of the ‘norm’ that I can always count on and it’s that ‘norm’ that is shifting.

I believe that America will come out of this much better off than even before it all started, but it won’t be the same America that I grew up in. This is the natural wildfire that helps clear and forge a new beginning. No one wants to be stuck in the middle and only a few are strong enough to fight it. I believe that our alternative energy, education, economy and healthcare will be a more inline with the European ideology of community. The corporate greed and financial scams will be a distant fragment of our history. I feel that I’ll be interviewed one day by my children’s children for some school assignment about my recollections of this period in history. If anyone knows me, I’ve always said “history is something you live, not read” and this couldn’t be a more true statement today than when I was in high school. Maybe it all comes full circle and that’s why I’m so passionate about documenting all that I witness. Some historians believe that change comes from studying history, yet I think history is cyclical and it’ can’t necessarily be altered. We just understand the triggers of these cycles. Granted, this is only one man’s opinion.

The excess and expectations are shifting, even in my own household as I learn and realize how I impact my surroundings and my pocketbook. This shift is rippling across our nation and as difficult as it is now, we will be better and stronger because of it. New resources are cropping up all over the place and the restoration of communities has begun. It all just takes time, so in the meantime I will do what I always do. Find humor in every day, laugh and move forward but realize that I too am scared.

Posted on February 20, 2009, in Rant, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad to know I’m not the only one wearing a happy mask half the time.

  2. I can hear your laughter in my mind. Sometimes it helps me feel better.

    I wish you were here so we could can and pickle stuff together this summer.

    Love you, Buddy.

Leave a Reply

