Human Veal

A veal pen is roughly 8′ deep, 4′ wide and 4′ high. Typically Holstein bull calves arrive weighing around 100lbs and leave 14-16 weeks later weighing somewhere around 320-370 lbs. The placement of the solid-sided open-front boxed pen is typically placed facing south to allow the low winter sun to penetrate into the hutch and the open end allows for natural ventilation.

I mention this because a veal pen isn’t much different than my cube at work. Really. I sit in a 6′ deep by 6′ wide box that too is about 4′ high. I started here somewhere around 175lbs. and am now in the neighborhood of 195 lbs. Granted it’s been more time than the 14-16 weeks the calves get and I do have the luxury of being able to get up and move around a bit during the day. The other interesting fact is that I too have a window, yet I am not facing the south and unlike a Holstein bull, I don’t get fresh air, I get OSHA approved forced circulated air. I’m really not comparing my life to that of a piece of veal, but there are similarities though.

I’d just call this food for thought.

Posted on September 18, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I take it you weren’t too drunk to remember my “veal fattening pen” comment. Nice!

    So, so good to see you. I hope you end up in Hamtown real soon.

  2. Dude, Veal, Nice! Although beef is good, the thought of eating you my friend is a bit disheartening. I suggest getting out of the bull pen more often!

    And maybe unscrew one of the walls like the guy in Office Space. Rad!

Leave a Reply

